A Weekend Camping in Northern Ireland

So the other day I went down the proverbial rabbit trail of looking at #Van Life  pictures on Instagram and Pinterest and you know how they just show you stuff similar to posts you’ve already liked? Well  now whenever I look at either it’s just loads of pictures of camping, pine trees, ceramic mugs and Airstream trailers. I think it’s really interesting that it’s so popular to pack up your life and seek freedom on the road , in a ridiculously expensive and super stylish trailer of course. I’m saying that as a person who would not, under any circumstances want to live in a trailer. And as I write this the universe is conspiring to make me living in a camper van at some point, I’m certain. Dear Universe I like the Airstreams best, okay thanks. Anyway, feeling inspired, we packed up (and by packed up I mean, I nearly packed everything we own, I am a chronic over packer and will read every article on the internet about packing light and then completely forget it and bring 20 pairs of heels to the beach, don’t judge me) and headed out to the woods on a small secluded island, that is, we walked willingly onto the set of every horror movie ever.  There was even a TV left behind just perched on a tree. I know what you are thinking. Why did we stay there after seeing that?? Well my friends,  I can tell you! It was because we’d already set up our tent that has private bedrooms and that thing was a pain in the arse. No, really, the TV was there because the river flooded this past year and washed up all the garbage that had been in the river. I’m sure the river didn’t put it in the tree and that was an intrepid camper and definitely not the guy from Saw. And now you’re asking who disposes of a TV in the river and I second that question. YOU GUYS, we have fucked up the environment already, we have to stop doing this before we all die from climate change or the animals revolting like in that wonderful garbage show ZOO. Anyway we cooked over the fire and drank beer and sangria. I’ll fully admit I’m one of those people who at every social gathering must bring my “special sangria recipe”so I can tell everyone that I lived in Spain, don’t judge me for that either. Also my “special sangria recipe” is wine and whatever fruit I find in the shop. It’s “authentic”. We brought our dog, Tyson,with us as well and were surprised at how well behaved he was, he went to sleep as soon as we put him in the tent! He did momentarily light his tail on fire by going to close to the fire, but no damage was done. It was a wonderful and rejuvenating night for everyone. Except for Tyson’s tail.

picture of camping in Northern Ireland

How did you spend your weekend? Would you live in a camper van for the long haul?

xx

 

One thought on “A Weekend Camping in Northern Ireland

Leave a Reply

